BBC Radio 1 celebrates 20 years in Ibiza: Thursday 30 July – Sunday 2 August 2015

BBC Radio 1 Ibiza 20

BBC Radio 1 Ibiza 20

BBC Radio 1 celebrates 20 years of broadcasting from the balearic island of Ibiza from Thursday 30 July to Sunday 2 August.

Of course Ibiza was not Radio 1’s discovery nor was it the first UK radio station to cover the island. However, over the past 20 years the Radio 1 Ibiza weekend has become a major fixture in the station and island’s calendar, if sometimes overstated and veering towards self-congratulation.

It was in 1995 that the station first visited the white isle with a live Essential Mix (which at the time was just 18 months old) from Nicky Holloway at was then known as the Ku club (now Privilege). The full tracklisting is here.

The station returned in 1996 with live shows from Pete Tong’s Essential Selection and Danny Rampling’s Love Groove Dance Party from Cafe del Mar and Amnesia. Both were joined by Sasha for the Essential Mix from Space.

It was in 1998 that the Radio 1 weekend achieved true notoriety when, in a much more decadent era for the BBC, virtually the whole station decamped to the island.

Countless incidents ensued. Zoe Ball throwing up off air after going straight to a live breakfast show from a night out after meeting her future husband Norman Cook. Lisa I’Anson going AWOL after reportedly taking liquid acid eye drops at Manumission Motel (the club was notorious for its live sex shows and the chosen venue for the Essential Mix). There was the unfortunate juxtaposition of a live set from Gilles Peterson immediately after Carl Cox on the terrace of Space.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

The station rightly scaled back future visits to the island, but they were no less eventful. In 1999, Annie Nightingale found herself getting man handled by the DJs in the Zenith room at Pacha, and there was “colourful” language from Grandma Funk on Danny Rampling’s “Love Groove Dance Party”, unaware of being live on air.

Both dance music and Radio 1 have had their ups and downs since and many DJs come and gone, but the Ibiza weekend has endured. And so this year Radio 1 station celebrates 20 years of live broadcasts and events from Ibiza’s famous bars and clubs (Amnesia, Pacha, Space, Ku/Privilege) with a host of special shows from Space, Ibiza Rocks and San Antonio.

In the run-up to the Ibiza weekend the station is also a repeating a number of Essential Mixes from the likes of Carl Cox, Sasha, Erick Morillo and Paul Oakendold.

Thursday 30 July 2015

7-9pm BST / 8-10pm CET – Annie Mac live from Ibiza

9pm-1am BST / 10pm-2am CET – Heidi live from Enter at Space

Friday 31 July 2015

6.30-10am BST / 7.30-11am CET – The Radio 1 Breakfast Show with Nick Grimshaw

6-11pm BST / 7pm-midnight CET – Annie Mac live from Ushuaia with DJ sets from Calvin Harris and Disclosure

11pm-2am BST / 12 midnight-2am CET – Hot Since 82 from Enter at Space

2-6am BST / 3-7am CET – 20 Years of Ibiza Classic Essential Mixes

Saturday 1 August 2015

4-6pm BST / 5-7pm CET – Radio 1’s Dance Anthems with Danny Howard

6-10pm BST / 7-11pm CET – Danny Howard live from the San Antonio sunset strip featuring performances from Rudimental and Duke Dumont

Sunday 2 August 2015

7-11pm BST / 8-12 midnight CET – Pete Tong live from Ibiza Rocks with Faithless and Kolsch

Radio 1 will also mark 20 years of Ibiza with a special Ibiza Prom at the Royal Albert Hotel on Wednesday 29 July.

This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.